Saturday, October 22, 2005

A Cold & Miserable Saturday

It must be the weekend, that's for sure. I woke up to the sound of rain and when I jumped out of bed I could feel the chill in the air. Winter is definitely on it's way and I better learn to deal with it fast! There's rain in the forecast for the next week and it's going to be cold, too. I have a feeling that today is going to be a lazy day around here. I'm sitting at the computer weighing my options - do nothing, go to the gym, do nothing, go to the gym. Decisions, decisions, decisions. I keep telling myself that the gym will be crowded this early in the morning, but when I look at the clock, it says 11:03. I guess that's no longer early morning! Where does the time go when you're laying in bed vegging out with the tv?? Ok, I'm gonna do it. I'm gonna throw on my workout clothes and head to the gym. I want to make pumpkin cookies with chocolate chips this afternoon and I'll feel really guilty if I eat them and I haven't worked out. Elliptical machine, here I come!

Friday, October 21, 2005

It's Friday Again!

Well I made it through another week. Things have calmed down quite a bit and I'm finding more and more time for myself now. I worked late on Tuesday, but still went to volleyball, so I have the motivation. I got to the gym on Wednesday and had a very strenuous workout. I'm feeling the pain, that's for sure, but I'm also feeling more energetic. Unbelievable! Especially for someone that never really exercised at all until a couple of years ago. Thanks Rob!

The cold weather is here. I'm not handling it very well, but I should be thankful that I didn't follow through on that trip to Key West. I was determined to get back to the boat races this year, but decided to use dh's bonus to put the other bathroom in instead - and pay for Christmas. Wilma is scheduled to hit KW on Monday, which really sucks. It's Fantasy Fest week and they are losing millions of $$$. Hopefully she will spare them a lot of damage. I LOVE that place!

So, the "peas" have done it again. I'm constantly taking their advice for places to shop, things to buy, etc. and now I'm hooked on Trader Joe's. They have the best food and it's cheap too! Unfortunately it's 20+ minutes away and I'm burning lots of gas and ending up shopping there instead of my regular grocery store where I can earn money off my gas! Oh well, such is life, huh? That's why I have to keep working - to buy gas to go to all these out-of-the-way places!

Friday, October 14, 2005

It's Friday!!!

Friday is here and I'm feeling a whole lot better. Things are calming down and I'm finding time to sit down and read a magazine or even catch a show on HGTV. I'm just trying to settle into a routine. Shoot, I even found time to go to the Y and do a 1/2 hour workout on the elliptical machine on both Wednesday and Thursday. Working out makes me feel so much better. My energy level is up again and I'm ready to really get back into shape. This flabby, overweight (well, I gained 3 pounds) thing has a tendency to make me feel crappy and when I feel like that everything seems to look worse. I'll just keep plugging away and try to keep my spirits up.

Homecoming is this weekend and my 14-year-old freshman is going. Geez, where does the time go? It seems like just yesterday when I was the one in high school. It's funny how when you're a kid, the grown-ups used to say stupid things like, "Oh look at how she's grown up. She was just a little girl. Where does the time go?" Now those things don't sound so stupid. Time moves so slowly when you're a kid, but flies by when you're an adult. That doesn't seem fair! Slow down! I'm not ready to be 40!

Thursday, October 06, 2005

Why am I so tired?

Gee, I can't figure out why I'm so tired. Why I run out of time every day to do the things I want. When can I sit down and watch tv? When can I kick back and read a book? Whenever I get a chance to do those things, I'm exhausted and I end up turning off the tv or putting down the book and going to sleep. How come my time doesn't start until at least 10:30????

I'm in one of those moods. I work 3 days/week at a job that is getting OLD! I'm ready to make a change, but I have no idea what I want to do - just that I don't want to keep doing what I'm doing. Actually, it's not what I'm doing, it's the way things are going at work. They have "raised the bar" and they expect you to keep working more and more and more until it eventually kills you. I don't want to be a part of that. I don't mind going above and beyond my responsibilities, but don't make me take the family pictures off my desk. Don't make me work in a sterile environment. I spend most of my waking hours at work and I need something personal to keep me going. Making people take the personal items off their desk is certainly not going to help morale. That's my opinion, for what it's worth.

Anyways, I'm glad that the kids are back to school, but the homework is killing me. I come home from work and immediately sit down to help with homework. After that, I make dinner, clean up, and make sure everyone has a lunch for the next day, and then do more homework. Why can't I come home, sit down in my place on the couch, and watch tv for the entire evening. Doesn't seem fair. Oh well, like I tell my kids, life isn't fair.

Hopefully tomorrow will find me in a better mood. I'm tired of being crabby and bitchy all the time!